flower booking

Boris
“We don’t feel comfortable calling Dear a return to our slow and heavy style,” says Tokyo’s amplifier worshiping experimental metal institution Boris. “We’ve been heavy since day one.” And it’s true. From the droning thunder of their Absolutego debut and through the cinematic crescendo of albums like Flood, the bombastic licks of the Heavy Rocks records, the punk rage of Vein, the bottom-dwelling psychedelia of Akuma no Uta and Pink, and the grimy thump of Attention Please and New Album, Boris has always attempted to search out new ways to level listeners with their sound. On the 25th year of their existence, the trio delivers Dear, an album they describe as “heavenly—far beyond heavy.”

Though Boris has traversed a broad swath of sonic territories, they have always been consistent in their embracing of excess, pushing their myriad of approaches and stylistic forays to points of intoxicating absurdity. But a time came in the early years of their third decade where the band wondered if there were any new horizons for the band to explore. Consequently, it was decided that the band would begin jamming on material for what was planned to be a record that served as a formal goodbye to fans. In a strange twist of fate, being unencumbered by expectations and having an open-ended approach to the writing process reinvigorated Boris. The renewed vitality yielded an album that fortifies their monolithic wall of sound while also allowing the individual band members to explore the nuances and intricacies of minimalist riffs played at maximum volume.

Album opener “D.O.W.N. –Domination of Waiting Noise-“ sets the tone for the record’s glacial pace and seismic rumble with vast swaths of sustained chords underscoring oscillator pulses and Takeshi’s soaring vocals. Songs like “DEADSONG”, “Kagero”, and “The Power” take the glacial doom of their early records and broaden the expanses of empty space to allow the chirp of amplifier tubes, the groan of strained speaker cabinets, and the sizzle of cranked distortion to transform their dirges into macrocosms of textures. It was a premeditated strategy, with the band deliberately scaling down on instrumentation in order to allow more color, detail, and tension to emanate from their protracted riffage. The galloping chugs and acidic guitar leads of “Absolutego” provide the most rock-oriented moment of the album, even though the song’s crushing timbre is cataclysmic even by the most down-tuned and heavily doped stoner rock standards. Brief moments of respite from the dimed amplifiers can be found on songs like “Beyond” and “Memento Mori”, where the band juxtaposes their deluges of fuzz with hints of ethereal dream pop.

Songwriting for Dear initially yielded three albums’ worth of material by the end of 2015, but as the band was slated to spend a large chunk of 2016 on their “Performing Pink” worldwide tour, they decided to hold off on releasing any new material. The tour further rekindled their passion, and when the band returned home they wrote several more songs and scaled the three records down to one. “At the very first moment, this album began as some kind of potential farewell note of Boris. However, it became a sincere letter to fans and listeners… you know, like ‘Dear so-and-so, this is the new album from Boris’ or something like that. We feel so grateful we can release this album in our 25th anniversary year.” Adding to that sentiment, Sargent House is grateful to release Boris Dear to the world on July 14, 2017 on CD, 2xLP, and digital formats.

Boris
“We don’t feel comfortable calling Dear a return to our slow and heavy style,” says Tokyo’s amplifier worshiping experimental metal institution Boris. “We’ve been heavy since day one.” And it’s true.... + more bio

Tour Dates
Date Location Venue
10/03/17 Tue Fresno, CA Strummers with Endon
10/04/17 Wed Sacramento, CA Harlow's with Endon
10/06/17 Fri Eugene, OR WOW Hall with Sumac, Endon
10/07/17 Sat Seattle, WA Neumo's with Sumac, Endon
10/08/17 Sun Vancouver, BC, Canada Rickshaw Theatre with Sumac, Endon
10/09/17 Mon Portland, OR Doug Fir Lounge with Sumac, Endon
10/11/17 Wed San Francisco, CA The Independent with Sumac, Endon
10/12/17 Thu Joshua Tree, CA Institute of Mentalphysics (and Joshua Tree Retreat Center) Desert Daze
10/13/17 Fri Joshua Tree, CA Institute of Mentalphysics (and Joshua Tree Retreat Center) Desert Daze
10/14/17 Sat Tucson, AZ 191 Toole with SubRosa, Endon
10/14/17 Sat Joshua Tree, CA Institute of Mentalphysics (and Joshua Tree Retreat Center) Desert Daze
10/15/17 Sun Joshua Tree, CA Institute of Mentalphysics (and Joshua Tree Retreat Center) Desert Daze
10/16/17 Mon Salt Lake City, UT Metro Music Hall with SubRosa, Endon
10/17/17 Tue Denver, CO Bluebird Theater with SubRosa, Endon
10/19/17 Thu Lawrence, KS Granada Theatre with SubRosa, Endon
10/20/17 Fri Omaha, NE The Waiting Room with SubRosa, Endon
10/21/17 Sat Minneapolis, MN Triple Rock Social Club with Helms Alee, Endon
10/22/17 Sun Milwaukee, WI Turner Hall with Helms Alee, Endon
10/23/17 Mon Chicago, IL Thalia Hall with Helms Alee, Endon
10/25/17 Wed Detroit, MI El Club with Helms Alee, Endon
10/26/17 Thu Cleveland, OH Grog Shop with Helms Alee, Endon
10/27/17 Fri Millvale, PA Mr Smalls with Helms Alee, Endon
10/28/17 Sat Philadelphia, PA Union Transfer with Helms Alee, Endon
10/29/17 Sun Baltimore, MD Rams Head Live! Days of Darkness Festival
10/31/17 Tue Allston, MA Brighton Music Hall with Mutoid Man, Endon
11/01/17 Wed Brooklyn, NY Warsaw with Mutoid Man, Endon
11/04/17 Sat Durham, NC Motorco with Mutoid Man, Endon
11/05/17 Sun Knoxville, TN The Concourse with Mutoid Man, Endon
11/07/17 Tue Atlanta, GA The Masquerade - Hell Stage with Mutoid Man, Endon
11/08/17 Wed Nashville, TN Exit / In with Mutoid Man, Endon
11/09/17 Thu Birmingham, AL Saturn with Thou, Endon
11/10/17 Fri McDade, TX Sherwood Forest Faire Sound on Sound Fest
11/10/17 Fri New Orleans, LA One Eyed Jacks with Thou, Endon
11/11/17 Sat McDade, TX Sherwood Forest Faire Sound on Sound Fest
11/12/17 Sun McDade, TX Sherwood Forest Faire Sound on Sound Fest
11/14/17 Tue Albuquerque, NM Sister with Helms Alee, Endon
11/15/17 Wed Phoenix, AZ The Crescent Ballroom with Torche, Endon
11/17/17 Fri San Diego, CA Casbah with Torche, Endon
Avails
Oct/Nov:For Support
Submit an inquiry
Contacts
Responsible Agent:
Mahmood Shaikh
Management:
Tadashi Hamada
Daymare